Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
World economy growth scenarios in 2050 : what ...

As part of the scientific activities related to its ongoing program "Strategic Intelligence", IRES held on June 17th, 2011 a seminar on " World economy growth scenarios in 2050 : what place for Morocco ? “, led by Agnes Benassy-Quéré, Director of the Centre d’Etudes Prospectives et d’Informations Internationales (CEPII).

During this scientific event, which brought together high level experts, important issues were discussed with view to long term prospects of the Moroccan economy and its positioning in the globalization, with reference to the main findings of the CEPII report titled "The World Economy in 2050 : A tentative Picture."

The debate that took place during this study day has stressed (i) the opportunity for Morocco to diversify its strategic alliances, through its anchoring to the world economy new drivers so as to optimize its policy of openness and trade liberalization (ii) the importance to improve total factor productivity to serve best the country’s competitive advantages and (iii) the need to accelerate reforms of second generation to spur the Moroccan economy growth regime in order to meet current and future development challenges.

09:15
Introductory Speech by Mr. Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE
Director General, Royal Institute for Strategic Studies
Communication of Mrs Agnès BENASSY-QUERE
Director of the Centre d’Etudes Prospectives et d’Informations Internationale

10:15
Debate

11:15
Synthesis & Conclusions

Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
Scénarios de croissance de l’économie mondiale à l’horizon ...

Dans le cadre des activités scientifiques relevant de son programme permanent « Veille stratégique », l’IRES a organisé le 17 juin 2011 une journée d’étude sur le thème « Scénarios de croissance de l’économie mondiale à l’horizon 2050 : quelle place pour le Maroc ? », animée par Mme Agnès BENASSY-QUERE, Directrice du Centre d’Etudes Prospectives et d’Information Internationales (CEPII).

Lors de cette manifestation scientifique, qui a réuni des experts de haut niveau, d’importantes questions ont été abordées en lien avec les perspectives d’évolution à long terme de l’économie marocaine et son positionnement dans la mondialisation à la lumière des conclusions du rapport élaboré par le CEPII « The World Economy in 2050 : a Tentative Picture ».

Le débat qui a eu lieu lors de cette journée d’étude a permis de mettre en exergue (i) l’importance de la diversification des alliances stratégiques du Maroc, par le biais de son arrimage aux nouvelles locomotives de l’économie mondiale dans le but d’optimiser sa politique d’ouverture et de libéralisation commerciale (ii) le caractère déterminant de l’amélioration de la productivité globale des facteurs en matière de renforcement des avantages compétitifs du pays et (iii) la nécessité d’accélérer les réformes de seconde génération pour impulser le régime de croissance de l’économie marocaine dans le but de relever les défis de développement actuels et futurs.

09h30
Allocution de M. Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE
Directeur Général de l’Institut Royal des Études Stratégiques

09h45
Intervention de Mme Agnès BENASSY-QUERE
Directrice du Centre d’Etudes Prospectives et d’Informations Internationale

10h15
Débat

12h15
Conclusions et synthèse