Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
Discussion of key findings of the study titled ...

The IRES held on October 5th, 2011 at 15h00, a seminar related to the discussion of key findings of the study titled “Sustainability of the Moroccan development model : the green economy as a strategic option". This seminar comes within the scope of the institute’s study program “Global Competitiveness and positioning of Morocco in the global system”, which involves about fifty scholars and research associates.

The seminar, attended by senior officials of national agencies, representatives of ministries concerned with environmental and energy issues as well as academics and representatives of civil society, was devoted to the analysis of the sustainability of the Moroccan development model and the opportunities associated with the green economy as a central pillar of the country’s development strategy.

The discussion, during this scientific event, focused on the required adaptations on economic, regulatory, institutional and societal levels in order to facilitate the transition of Morocco to a green-based economy as well as on the importance of coordination between various national actors to make successful this important option.

15.00
Introductory speech of Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE,
Director General of the Royal Institute for Strategic Studies

15.15

Abdellah AIT OUAHMAN
Member of IRES’ Working Group on green economy, Director of the National School of Applied Sciences, University Cadi Ayyad, Marrakech.

“Sustainability of the Moroccan development model: the green economy as a strategic option”

Moderator: Said Moufti
Research Director, Project Coordinator “Economic Competitiveness,” IRES

16.00
Debate

18.00
Closing Remarks

Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
Présentation des résultats de l’étude “Durabilité du modèle ...

L’IRES a organisé le 5 octobre 2011 à 15h, un séminaire ayant pour objet la présentation des conclusions de l’étude relative à l’option stratégique de l’économie verte, entrant dans le cadre de son programme d’études « Compétitivité globale et positionnement du Maroc dans le système mondialisé », qui met à contribution près d’une cinquantaine d’universitaires et de chercheurs associés.

Ce séminaire, auquel ont pris part de hauts responsables d’agences nationales, des représentants des départements ministériels concernés par les questions environnementales et énergétiques ainsi que des universitaires et des représentants de la société civile, a été consacré à l’examen du diagnostic de la durabilité du modèle de développement marocain et des options envisageables par le Maroc pour faire de l’économie verte un pilier central de sa politique de développement, en s’inspirant des meilleures pratiques internationales en la matière.

Le débat a porté, également, sur les adaptations économiques, réglementaires, institutionnelles et sociétales pour faciliter la transition du Maroc vers l’économie verte ainsi que sur l’importance de la coordination entre les différents acteurs nationaux pour réussir ce chantier d’envergure.

14h45
Accueil des participants

15h00
Mot d’introduction de M. Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE,
Directeur Général de l’Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques

15h15

M. Abdellah AIT OUAHMAN,
Membre du groupe de travail de l’IRES sur l’économie verte, Directeur de l’Ecole Nationale des Sciences Appliquées, Université Cadi Ayyad- Marrakech.

« Durabilité du modèle de développement marocain : l’option stratégique de l’économie verte »

Modérateur : M. Said MOUFTI

Directeur de Recherche, Coordinateur de Projet d’études « Compétitivité économique », IRES

16h00
Débat

18h00
Mot de clôture