Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
IRES Conference at the Norwegian Institute of International Relations

IRES Director General, Mr. Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE, facilitated, April 21, 2016 at the Norwegian Institute of International Affairs (NUPI) in Oslo, a conference that highlighted the major reforms undertaken by Morocco on the political, institutional, economic, social and environmental levels as well as the foundations of the Kingdom’s foreign policy.

Attended by European and African Ambassadors accredited in Oslo, representatives of the Norwegian civil society and academic experts, the conference focused on the contribution of the 2011 Constitution in terms of accelerating Morocco’s democratic transition, anchoring to human rights and implementing a development model based on the advanced regionalization. This model, which will benefit primarily to the southern provinces, devoted the Kingdom’s developments efforts deployed in the Sahara for more than 40 years, to make it an area of peace, stability and shared prosperity profiting even to the sub-Saharan neighbors ;

Other important aspects were discussed including the levers to enhance further Morocco's relations with the European Union in their bilateral and Mediterranean dimension, the reality and prospects of the strategic positioning of Morocco in Africa as well as the potential of development of relations with Scandinavian countries, with which the Kingdom could build the foundation for a promising cooperation at several levels. To this end, a study has been launched recently by IRES, in partnership with NUPI and the Swedish Institute of International Relations.

Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
Conférence de l’IRES à l’Institut Norvégien des Relations Internationales

Le Directeur Général de l'IRES, Monsieur Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE, a animé, le 21 avril 2016 au siège de l'Institut Norvégien des Relations Internationales (NUPI) à Oslo, une conférence qui a mis en relief les grands chantiers de réforme menés par le Maroc sur le plan politique, institutionnel, économique, sociétal et environnemental ainsi que les fondements de la politique étrangère du Royaume.

Lors de cette conférence, à laquelle ont pris part des Ambassadeurs de pays européens et africains accrédités à Oslo, des représentants de la société civile norvégienne et des experts universitaires, l'accent a été mis sur l'apport de la Constitution de 2011 en matière d'accélération de la transition démocratique du Royaume, d'ancrage aux droits de l'Homme et de mise en place d'un modèle de développement axé sur la régionalisation avancée. Ce modèle, qui profitera en premier lieu aux provinces du Sud, consacre les efforts de développements consentis par le Royaume dans son Sahara depuis plus de 40 ans, en vue de faire de celle-ci un espace de paix, de stabilité et de prospérité partagée profitant même au voisinage subsaharien.

D'autres aspects importants ont été abordés dont notamment les leviers de renforcement des relations du Maroc avec l'Union Européenne dans leur dimension bilatérale et méditerranéenne, la réalité et les perspectives du positionnement stratégique du Maroc en Afrique ainsi que le potentiel de développement des relations avec les pays scandinaves, avec lesquels le Royaume pourrait forger les bases d’une coopération prometteuse à plusieurs niveaux. A ce sujet, une étude a été lancée récemment par l’IRES, en collaboration avec le NUPI et l’Institut Suédois des Relations Internationales.