Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques
What prospects of political transition in Egypt ?

As part of its permanent mission of strategic watch and the geopolitical dimension of its study program "Global competitiveness and Morocco’s positioning within the globalized system", IRES organized, on January 16, 2013, a conference-debate, moderated by His Excellency Abou-Bakr Mohamed HEFNY MAHMOUD, Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt  to Morocco, on the theme : «What prospects of political transition in Egypt ? » .

During this conference, which was attended by national experts in the field of international political and economic issues, emphasis was put on examining the structural roots of the "25 January Revolution" and its impacts on the reconfiguration of the political landscape in Egypt and reprioritization of the country's foreign policy. Alongside the debate on the achievements recorded so far on the political, economic and social level, the discussion has focused on the main endogenous obstacles to overcome in order to secure the democratic transition in Egypt.

Other important aspects were discussed among which are the development prospects of economic relations between Morocco and Egypt, the potential role of both countries in the achievement of the project of Great Arab Free Trade Area (GAFTA) and the revitalization of the Euro-Mediterranean integration as well as the importance of strengthening bilateral cooperation on major strategic issues of common interest.

08.45
Accueil des participants

09.00
Mot d’introduction de M. Mohammed Tawfik MOULINE, Directeur Général de l’Institut Royal des Etudes Stratégiques

09.15
Intervention de Monsieur Mohamed HEFNY MAHMOUD, Ambassadeur de la République Arabe d’Egypte

Modérateur : M. Said MOUFTI
Directeur de Recherche à l’IRES, Coordinateur de projet d’études « Compétitivité économiques »

09.45
Débat

11.00
Mot de clôture

المعهد الملكي للدراسات الإستراتيجية
ما هي آفاق التحول السياسي في مصر ؟

في إطار مهامه المتعلقة باليقظة الإستراتيجية وبرنامجه الدراسي حول "التنافسية الشاملة وموقع المغرب في العولمة" في شقه الجيوسياسي، نظم المعهد الملكي للدراسات الإستراتيجية يوم الأربعاء 16 يناير 2013، ندوة نقاش حول موضوع  "ما هي آفاق التحول السياسي في مصر ؟ " ، قام بتنشيطها سعادة سفير جمهورية مصر العربية في المغرب السيد أبو بكر حفنى محمود.

خلال هذه الندوة ، التي حضرها خبراء مغاربة  في القضايا السياسية والاقتصادية الدولية ، تم التركيز على دراسة الجذور الهيكلية لـ"ثورة 25 يناير"، وأثر ذلك على المشهد السياسي في مصر وإعادة ترتيب أولويات السياسة الخارجية للبلاد. إلى جانب مناقشة الإنجازات المسجلة حتى الآن على الصعيد السياسي والاقتصادي والاجتماعي، تم التركيز على المعيقات التي يجب تجاوزها للدفع بمسلسل الانتقال الديمقراطي في مصر.

وتمت مناقشة جوانب هامة أخرى بما في ذلك آفاق تطوير العلاقات الاقتصادية بين المغرب ومصر، والدور الذي يمكن أن يلعبه البلدان في تفعيل مشروع منطقة التجارة العربية الحرة الكبرى (GAFTA) و كذا تطوير التكامل الأورومتوسطي  بالإضافة إلى أهمية تعزيز التعاون الثنائي في القضايا الاستراتيجية الكبرى ذات الاهتمام المشترك.

08.45
استقبال المشاركين

09.00
كلمة السيد محمد توفيق ملين، المدير العام للمعهد الملكي للدراسات الاستراتيجية

09.15
مداخلة السيد أبو بكر حفنى محمود، سفير جمهورية مصر العربية في المغرب
رئيس الجلسة :
السيد سعيد موفتي، مدير البحث بالمعهد الملكي للدراسات الاستراتيجية
منسق مشروع الدراسات “التنافسية الاقتصادية”

09.45
مناقشة عامة

11.00
ملخص واستنتاجات